Cii Radio| Ayesha Ismail| 18 December 2017| 29 rabi ul Awal 1439

The ANC has named Cyril Ramaphosa as its new president at the party’s 54th national conference at Nasrec in Soweto.

Ramaphosa is the party’s 14th president and replaces Jacob Zuma who has held the position since 2012.

His competition for the ANC presidential race was Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma.

Ramaphosa received 2,440 votes to Dlamini Zuma’s 2,261.

David Mabuza has been elected deputy president, with 2,538 votes compared to Lindiwe Sisulu’s 2,159.

Gwede Mantashe is the new national chairperson having obtained 2,418 votes to Nathi Mthethwa’s 2,269.

Ace Magashule will serve as secretary-general after winning 2,360 votes versus Senzo Mchunu with 2,336 votes.

Jessie Duarte has been chosen as deputy secretary general with 2,474 votes compared to 2,213 for Zingiswa Losi.

Paul Mashatile is the party’s new treasurer general after obtaining 2,517 votes to Maite Nkoana-Mashabane’s 2,178.

Source – EWN News


Leave a Reply